Medical City North Hills June 27, 2017

Medical City North Hills has been designated a Level III Trauma Center by the Texas Department of State Health Services, making it just the second hospital in Northeast Tarrant County to achieve the distinguished classification.  Achieving Level III status represents a commitment to provide a high level of trauma care and reflects Medical City North Hills’ dedication to providing care for severely injured patients.

“Serving this community for over 56 years, Medical City North Hills has been a healthcare leader for generations,” said Xavier Villarreal, CEO of Medical City North Hills. “Achieving this advanced trauma designation reinforces our commitment as a leader in trauma and emergency services for the greater Northeast Tarrant area.”

According to the American Trauma Society, a Level III Trauma Center demonstrates an ability to provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care and stabilization of injured patients and emergency operations.

Elements of a Level III Trauma center include:

  • 24-hour immediate coverage by emergency medicine physicians and the prompt availability of general surgeons and anesthesiologists
  • A comprehensive quality assessment program
  • Transfer agreements for patients requiring more comprehensive care at a Level I or Level II Trauma Center
  • Provides back-up care for rural and community hospitals
  • Offers continued education of the nursing and trauma team

“Our culture is to continuously challenge ourselves to grow and innovate to meet the growing healthcare needs of our community,” Villarreal added. “We want our patients to know they can count on us, should they need a high level of trauma and emergency care.”

Medical City North Hills also boasts the only Cycle 5 Chest Pain Center with Primary PCI and Resuscitation accreditation in North Texas as well as having a Primary Stroke Center accreditation by the Joint Commission.